rotating object when falling

Topics: Developer Forum
Dec 28, 2012 at 7:31 AM
Edited Dec 28, 2012 at 7:35 AM

Hi all,

I'm having fun learning about farseer (yeah im a newb at this still), but I am a little stuck.

I have a rectangle body that is being fired from a canon at a 45degree angle. the body is also rotated up at a 45 degree angle and I have set the mass to be at the front of the body. 

the body goes up in the air fine however as the body comes back down to earth it does not rotate. Is there a way so that the mass side comes down first.

my real world example is, throwing a tennis ball with a string attached into the air. currently the string doesn't fall behind the ball when gravity comes into affect.

Here is my 'ball'

Body = BodyFactory.CreateRectangle(world, ConvertUnits.ToSimUnits(texture.Width), ConvertUnits.ToSimUnits(texture.Height),100f, postition, this);
            Body.Mass = 1;
            Body.LocalCenter = new Vector2(ConvertUnits.ToSimUnits(Texture.Width), ConvertUnits.ToSimUnits(Texture.Height / 2));
            Body.UserData = this;
            Body.BodyType = BodyType.Dynamic;
            Body.CollisionCategories = Category.All;
            Body.CollidesWith = Category.All;
            Body.IgnoreGravity = false;
            float ang = BarrelJoint.JointAngle;
            Body.Rotation = ang;

Then I do this to fire it:
Body.ApplyLinearImpulse(new Vector2((float)Math.Cos(ang) * 100, (float)Math.Sin(ang) * 100));

I am guessing there is some setting or calculation I am forgetting.
Dec 29, 2012 at 12:19 PM

Are you sure you are not forgetting some...physics? :)