Handling destructable bodies

Topics: User Forum
Mar 2, 2013 at 7:25 PM
Edited Mar 2, 2013 at 9:34 PM
Hi, i'm pretty new to Farseer Physics and i'm trying to use it to build a worms-like game.
I downloaded the TestBed project and robert's patch for destructable body and tried to use it with the Texture2polygon method found in samples files.
The ground (terrain) vertices are calculated this way:
            uint[] data = new uint[_polygonTexture.Width * _polygonTexture.Height];

textureVertices = PolygonTools.CreatePolygon(data, _polygonTexture.Width, false);
            Vector2 centroid = -textureVertices.GetCentroid();
            textureVertices.Translate(ref centroid);

// draw the texture the correct place.
            _origin = -centroid;

//We simplify the vertices found in the texture.
            textureVertices = SimplifyTools.ReduceByDistance(textureVertices, 6f);

//We create a new destructable body for the whole polygon
            // no need to decompose the vertices, it'll be done with the creation of the
            // destructable body
            DestructableBody db = new DestructableBody(world, textureVertices);
            _ground = db.Body;

used this way, the destructable body scales at a very strange size so, in the DestructableBody.CreateFixture i've forced vertices to be scaled the size I want by using verties.Scale(ref _myscale). This cause the Scale to be applied everytime a shape is subtracted to the destructable body.

The problem is, now the subtracted shape is not calculated the correct place : the algorithm is subtracting shape at the place the _ground would be if I weren't scaling it. Otherwise, the algorithm seems to be working pretty well, unless there is no holes gestion (which i don't need)

I think the problem comes from the fact we scale the polygon everytime but if i got the texture scaled only once, before converting it to destructable body, it loss its scales as soon as I subtract a new shape...