'Carrying' objects on a moving platform (static body)

Topics: Developer Forum
Feb 24, 2009 at 10:43 PM
Hey All - I'm fairly new to Farseer, but love what I see so far.

I'm running into a small problem and not sure what the best/easiest way to solve it is. I have a moving platform (consisting of a static body being manually moved between locations), which is intended to 'carry' other non-static physics bodies around the level. Unfortunately, when the platform moves horizontally all the bodies slide off - as expected vertical platform movement works fine. I've played around with the platform's Friction, LinearDragCoefficient, and MomentOfInertia to no avail (perhaps caused by an improper balance of each). The bodies must be able to fall of the platform if an external force is applied to them (collision, platform rotation, platform acceleration, etc.)

Am I messing with the proper variables? Is this something best achieved using a different method such as a joint? Am I potentially missing a variable on the non-static physic bodies?

Any hints/suggestions would be appreciated!
Feb 25, 2009 at 2:28 AM
If you're using the FrictionType.Minimum then cranking up the friction extremely high on the platform would have no effect. if changing the FrictionType doesn't help, try adding small "lips" on either side so that the objects don't slide off but can be pushed off/etc.
Feb 27, 2009 at 6:26 PM