Collisions and dynamic joint creation

Topics: User Forum
Mar 9, 2009 at 6:17 AM
My first question :).  I'm sure there are many more to come.  Let me start out by saying I am not very good with c# yet, nor xna, and have been working with c#/xna for about two weeks now.  I knew some c# beforehand, so I've picked up the basics rather quickly, but proper design and conceptualization (OO) is something I still lack.  With that out of the way, here goes:

So I started prototyping a game idea I had with blocks and their movement.  I have come quite a long ways using your demos and modifying them to fit what I am doing.  Right now, I have a number of these blocks on screen at a time.  Only one of them moves at a time.  I assign a rectangle body and geom to all of them, and they are all playing nicely.  In order to get the movement I wanted, I created a custom OnCollision event, which looks like this:

private bool MyOnCollisionMethod(Geom geom1, Geom geom2, ContactList list)
float distance;
    distance =
Vector2.Distance(collisionIndex, list[0].Position);

if (collisionJoint != null)
if (distance > 63f)
            Vector2 index = list[0].Position;
            collisionJoint = JointFactory.Instance.CreatePinJoint(PhysicsSimulator, geom1.Body, geom1.Body.GetLocalPosition(index), geom2.Body, geom2.Body.GetLocalPosition(index));
            collisionJoint.Enabled = true;
            collisionJoint.Breakpoint = 1f;
            index = collisionIndex;
else if (collisionJoint == null)
collisionJoint = JointFactory.Instance.CreatePinJoint(PhysicsSimulator, geom1.Body, geom1.Body.GetLocalPosition(index), geom2.Body, geom2.Body.GetLocalPosition(index));
        collisionJoint.Enabled =
        collisionJoint.Breakpoint = 1f;
        index = collisionIndex;

return true;