Complete noob question - getting started

Topics: User Forum
May 31, 2009 at 9:33 PM

Hi guys,

I'm completely new to Farseer and I'm just having trouble getting started.  I made a new XNA game (3.0), and I added the FarseerPhysics ERngine as an additional project.  I wanted to gert a little basic practice using the engine so I decided I would make a character class.  I'm using namespace "WindowsGame1" (boring, I know). 

One thing that I had to do to get arround problems was delete the AssemblyInfo file.  Not a big deal.

Looking to the Spider.cs class as a guide I made the following character class:

private Vector2 position;
        private Body mainBody;
        private Geom mainGeom;
        private CollisionCategory collCat;
        private CollisionCategory collidesWith;
        private int collisionGroup;

public Character(Vector2 position)
            this.position = position;
        public Body Body
            get { return mainBody; }
        public CollisionCategory CollisionCategory
            get { return collCat; }
            set { collCat = value; }

public CollisionCategory CollidesWith
            get { return collidesWith; }
            set { collidesWith = value; }

public int CollisionGroup
            get { return collisionGroup; }
            set { collisionGroup = value; }

public void ApplyForce(Vector2 force)

public void ApplyTorque(float torque)

Unfortunately, when I compile, I get the following error:

"The best overloaded method match for 'FarseerGames.FarseerPhysics.Dynamics.Body.ApplyForce (FarseerGames.FarseerPhysics.Mathematics.Vector2)' has some invalid arguments."

It's trying to use the XNA definition of Vector2 when the Body.ApplyForce( ) method is written to work with Farseer's Vector2 as an argument.

Maybe this is moire of a C# question than a Farseer question, but I would greatly appreciate it if someone could tell me what I'm doing wrong.  How can I get the system to just use one version of Vector2?

Many thanks,