Rotation and applied force in refrence frame...

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
Aug 26, 2009 at 1:14 PM

Last evening I downloaded and installed the Farseer Physics Engine for the first time.  I watched the demos and worked through a few tutorials.  This engine looks powerful and I'm very excited to start working with it.  I'm an experienced programmer and I've played with 2D and 3D physics from time to time, writen my own DIY 2D routines and working with the Ageia (now NVIDA) PhysX engine.  So last night when I wrote my first simple test application that yielded unexpected results, I went to bed a bit confused.  So I'm hoping to find some clarification.  My scenario is simple and straight forward.

Let's say I have a 50x50 square body and I do the following: 

body.Position = new Vector2(100.0f, 100.0f);
body.Rotation = 0.0f;
body.ApplyForceAtLocalPoint(new Vector2(100.0f, 0.0f), Vector2.Zero);

This code resulted in the behavior I expected, the body accelerated towards the right side of the screen.  Then I rotated the body 90 degrees CCW and applied the same force.

body.Position = new Vector2(100.0f, 100.0f);
body.Rotation = MathHelper.ToRadians(-90.0f);
body.ApplyForceAtLocalPoint(new Vector2(100.0f, 0.0f), Vector2.Zero);

To my surprise, rather than the object moving towards the top of the screen, the body moved to the right side exactly as the code above.  I was surprised by this because I assumed that AtLocalPoint meant "in local body reference frame/coordinate system", so a force applied a positive X-Axis force applied to a body turned on its left side, would result in a force pushing upwards -- forces applied within the reference frame of the Body.

Obviously, the function was not intended to apply a force within the local points coordinate system, but rather in the world coordinate system.  I'm not sure I'm describing this very well.