Using Farseer for my Tile Engine. Question about collision detection.

Oct 21, 2009 at 4:14 PM

Hello guys,

First off, I want to say I really like the Farseer Physics Engine. It was pretty easy to replace my own physics code and switch to Farseer. I made the switch because I figured that a physics engine would do a better job than me since I'm fairly new to game programming and the physics involved.

So yea, I'm making a 2D platformer game that uses a tile engine. The tiles make up the level, like ground and platforms are all made of tiles. The player can have collision with certain types of tiles, and so far that works. The tiles are 64 x 64 pixels and the player is 110 x 170 pixels. The player does collide with the tiles but I noticed some strange behaviour. Like the player would all of a sudden shift in the ground or walls. Figured out this had something witht the way I draw everything, because I just made the rotation 0 in everyday draw call. So I added the rotation of the Bodies to the draw calls, for the player and every tile. This fixed the first problem. But I don't really want the player or the tiles to rotate. Well the tiles wouldn't rotate because they all have static bodies. So after looking around on these discussion boards, I read that I just have to set the players Moment Of Inertia to float.PositiveInfinity. This worked fine, but I still have some doubts and a minor problem.

When I move my player around by applying force to its body, it will sometimes sorta jump like it moves up a tiny slope that's on the ground. So I kinda have doubts about my collision code which I will post soon :P