Can FarSeer be used in a networked XNA game?

Topics: Developer Forum, Project Management Forum, User Forum
Mar 1, 2007 at 6:36 PM
I'm interested using FarSeer Physics engine with XNA to create a multiplayer (eg. networked via TCP/IP) game.

I realize that XNA doesn't have any networking support on the X-Box 360 so my game will have to be Windows only (or support local multiplayer only on the 360).

Do you know if it's possible to create a networked game using FarSeer Physics engine? If so, do you have any tips or suggestions for me?

I'm a web application developer (with several years of experience), but I don't have much experience in game programming (or XNA) or network programming, but I'm determined to get this working!

Mar 1, 2007 at 7:32 PM
I don't see any reason why it couldn't be used for network gameplay, however I've never tried it.

Good luck with it though.
Dec 12, 2008 at 3:40 PM
Edited Dec 12, 2008 at 3:44 PM
I am in a similar situation.  I am making a server application that will keep track of everything much like World of warcraft.  I'm am unsure of the best way to send the physics information to each client.  I am planning on having 4-6 players connected to the server max, so I'm trying to find the best way to sync up the physics on all clients through the network.  I know how to do the easier stuff like health or whatever (for the most part) but I'm very unsure of how I will get each of the physics updates over to each client so they all see the same things as eachother.  Any links or concepts or anything else is much appreciated.  I guess I should mention I am using System.Net/ System.Net.Sockets and not xna networking (  <-- i'm using this and modifying as needed.
Dec 12, 2008 at 4:13 PM